Por la vida de mi hermana: Novela by Jodi Picoult

octubre 8, 2009



In my first memory, I am three years old, and I am trying to kill my sister. Sometimes, the recollection is so clear I can remember the itch of the pillowcase under my hand, the sharp point of her nose pressing into my palm. She didn’t stand a chance against me, of course, but it still didn’t work. My father walked by, tucking in the house for the night, and saved her. He led me back to my own bed. “That,” he told me, “never happened.”
As we got older, I didn’t seem to exist, except in relation to her. I would watch her sleep across the room from me, one long shadow linking our beds, and I would count the ways: Poison, sprinkled on her cereal. A wicked undertow off the beach. Lightning striking.
In the end, though, I did not kill my sister. She did it all on her own.
Or at least this is what I tell myself.

Anna is not sick, but she might as well be. By age thirteen, she has undergone countless surgeries, transfusions, and shots so that her sister, Kate, can somehow fight the leukemia that has plagued her since she was a child. Anna was born for this purpose, her parents tell her, which is why they love her even more. But now that she has reached an age of physical awareness, she can’t help but long for control over her own body and respite from the constant flow of her own blood seeping into her sister’s veins; “the nurses holding me down to stick me for white cells Kate might borrow; the doctor saying they didn’t get enough the first time around. The bruises and the deep bone ache after I gave up my marrow; the shots that sparked more stem cells in me, so that there’d be extra for my sister. The fact that I’m not sick, but I might as well be. The fact that the only reason I was born was as a harvest crop for Kate. The fact that even now, a major decision about me is being made, and no one’s bothered to ask the one person who most deserves it to speak her opinion.”

Anna makes a decision that for most would be too difficult to bear, at any time and at any age. She decides to sue her parents for the rights to her own body.

Using her sensitive, wise touch, Jodi Picoult once again probes into the love and heartache of a young girl and a modern family. As the Washington Post declares, “t is impossible not to be held spellbound by the way she forces us to think, hard, about right and wrong.”

Por la vida de mi hermana es la primera novela de Jodi Picoult traducida al español.

Anna Fitzgerald no está enferma, aunque pudiera parecerlo. Con trece años ha pasado por incontables operaciones, pruebas y transfusiones para que su hermana mayor, Kate, sobreviva a la leucemia que le diagnosticaron a los dos años. A Anna la seleccionaron genéticamente para ser la perfecta donante para Kate y ésta ha sido su vida desde que nació.

Como la mayoría de los adolescentes, Anna está comenzando a plantearse quién es realmente. Pero a diferencia de los demás, a ella siempre la han definido en función de Kate. Y aunque Anna nunca se ha enfrentado al papel que le ha tocado representar en la vida, ahora ha tomado una decisión que desgarrará a su familia y que puede tener consecuencias fatales para su hermana, una hermana por la que daría la vida.

La decisión más difícil es la historia de unos padres que luchan por la vida de su hija sin importar el precio que haya que pagar por ello. Se trata de una provocadora novela que pone el dedo en la llaga de cuestiones éticas fundamentales ante las que nadie podrá permanecer indiferente.

Available for the first time in the U.S., this Spanish-language translation of Jodi Picoult’s huge bestseller tells the story of a girl who decides to sue her parents for the rights to her own body.

Número uno en la lista de los libros más vendidos del New York Times nos llega, de la aclamada autora Jodi Picout, la apasionante y turbulenta historia de una joven adolescente que demanda a sus propios padres por poseer la potestad y los derechos ante su propio cuerpo.

About the Author



JODI PICOULT is the author of seventeen novels, including Handle With Care, Change of Heart, Nineteen Minutes, and My Sister’s Keeper, now a major motion picture. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband and three children.
Visit her website at www.jodipicoult.com

Responder

